Professional Designations

The CVI Team is devoted to providing valuations that are both transparent and ethical.  Because each of CVI’s appraisers are accredited under the American Society of Appraisers, the standards by which we operate are clearly defined and are upheld to the highest extent.

ASA Designationasa

The American Society of Appraisers is a professional organization of individual appraisers. International in structure, it is self-supporting and unaffiliated. The Society works cooperatively for the elevation of the standards of practice of the appraisal profession.

The only major appraisal organization representing all of the multi-disciplines of appraisal specialists, the Society was founded in 1952 and is headquartered in Washington, D.C. (The American Society of Technical Appraisers and the Technical Valuation Society, organized in 1936 and 1939 respectively, were consolidated creating the American Society of Appraisers.)

Society members include valuation specialists in equities, securities, land, equipment, buildings, art objects, engineering, finance, assessment, insurance law, accounting, natural resources, public utilities, and gems; in short, all types of property, tangible and intangible, real or personal.

Each Society member who has satisfactorily demonstrated that he or she is qualified to appraise one or more of the existing kinds of property has been granted the right to use the professional designation Accredited Senior Appraiser, “ASA”. Such designation is predicated upon Society criteria: written examinations, submission of representative appraisal reports, five years of full-time valuation experience and screening of the applicant’s practice and ethics constitute some of the requirements. Senior Members are required to recertify every five years.

Ethical practices and conduct required of Society members are defined in “The Principles of Appraisal Practice and Code of Ethics of the American Society of Appraisers“.

ASA Professional Ethics

The American Society of Appraisers has complete, rigorous ethics that designated appraisers must adhere to.

The ethical standards for the ASA can be viewed at the website noted below:


ASA Professional Education

The American Society of Appraisers has a complete, highly respected series of courses that teach appraisers basic and advanced business valuation techniques.In addition, the ASA requires that appraisers complete a minimum of 20 hours continuing education courses each year to ensure that they remain up to date in all the latest technology, studies and methodologies.

The relevant ASA website is noted below:


CFA Designation

The Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts (ICFA) is a professional self-regulatory organization. The primary goal of the ICFA, founded in 1962, is to establish, maintain and regulate standards of practice in the field of financial analysis.

Members of the ICFA are entitled to use the designation Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA). A college degree or equivalent is required to enter the CFA program. A successful candidate must have had at least three years of experience in financial analysis, related to investments, and subscribe to the highest ethical standards of practice. The candidate must also complete a three year study and examination series. Candidates are required to pass each of three separate, annually administered, six-hour examinations covering the fields of financial accounting, equity securities analysis, fixed income securities analysis, portfolio management, economics and ethical and professional standards.

All Chartered Financial Analysts are required to adhere to ethical standards as defined in the ICFA Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

The ICFA began a program of voluntary continuing education in 1986.